You are here: Home MDGs What are the MDGs What are the MGDs
What are the MGDs Send to a friend Print Version
Category: (Static pages)

The Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) are eight objectives that respond to the world’s main development challenges, which are to be achieved by 2015. The MDGs are drawn from the actions and targets contained in the Millennium Declaration, which was adopted by 189 nations and signed by 147 heads of states and governments during the UN Millennium Summit in September 2000.

The eight MDGs break down into 20 quantifiable targets that are measured by 59 indicators.

  • Goal 1: Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger
  • Goal 2: Achieve universal primary education
  • Goal 3: Promote gender equality and empower women
  • Goal 4: Reduce child mortality
  • Goal 5: Improve maternal health
  • Goal 6: Combat HIV/AIDS, malaria and other diseases
  • Goal 7: Ensure environmental sustainability
  • Goal 8: Develop a Global Partnership for Development

 Click here for a full list of Goals, targets and indicators.


A special initiative of the United Nations, the MDG Monitor, shows how countries are progressing in their efforts to achieve the MDGs. With the 2015 target date fast approaching, it is more important than ever to understand where successes are being achieved and where additional efforts and support are needed, both globally and at the country level.

See Kyrgyzstan's progress>>


Copyright United Nations of Kyrgyzstan,
un.org.kg, 2008

Hosting and technical support UNDP in Kyrgyzstan